Heavy weights

I know when you are bulking up you are supposed to lift heavy weights for a few reps. I don’t exactly do that. To make things easy we will say that I maxout on bench at 200 pounds. I can lift 190lbs ten times. But can only lift 200 once. Is there a reason for this. I have wondered about this since I started lifting. It is the same for most all my muscle groups. I do increase the weight over time. But after about two weeks of lifting a weight I can some what easily go up another 10-20 pounds. I am a newbie and thought this might be part of my steady increases, but not for the other part though. Another question is that I Have been bulking for about 12 weeks and I am going to cut down. I went in to the gym and almost died from lack of energy. The drop in carbs was evident. I had no energy. I am doing a diet similar to keto. Is this energy loss going to remain like this? Thanks.

I don’t exactly understand your question. 200 lbs is heavy, 190 not as heavy, so of course you can do more reps.If you were on a bulking/strength cycle, it would make more sense to do 195 4-6 reps, and try to push the weights up every week.

Looks like you got lots of slow twitch fibres. Are you a girl?

One of the reasons proposed for the difference in your max single and ten rep max is muscle make-up. Check Fred Hatfield’s (Dr. Squats) website, I belieehe has posted an article on determining muscle type by comparing your max. single to your 80% max reps. He also explains what this all means to your training. Charles Poulquin has also discussed this.