Heavy Lifting and Stroke

Hey guys, this is probably going to sound like a stupid question, but i have high blood pressure, and a family history of having it, and the doctor told me not to lift real heavy weight (which I do, ramping). Can this lead to me having a stroke or something?

I’m not a doctor, and i’m not YOUR doctor so this is pure speculation but:

As I understand, a stroke is when your brain is starved of oxygen? So maybe holding your breath/valsava technique would be best avoided?

You should find a doctor who also likes to train seriously, and ask his/her opinion.

That’s the thing, nost people in my fam, usually die from strokes. So its kinda scaring me now. So iono if I should just lift in the 8-12 rep range for now. Even squats, deads and bench can raise my pressure high ughhh. The thing is though, my fam doctor said the reason why my prssure is high is because I have big arms. But I still don’t wanna take a chance, because 85% of the ppl in my fam have high BP

[quote]Alex89 wrote:
e thing is though, my fam doctor said the reason why my prssure is high is because I have big arms.P[/quote]
???

First, how high is too high?

How big are your arms?

These are important questions.

[quote]Alex89 wrote:
The thing is though, my fam doctor said the reason why my prssure is high is because I have big arms. [/quote]
Then measure it using a bigger cuff.

For the third time, how high is your blood pressure? Systolic and diastolic please.
Were you born in 1989?
Height/weight?
Who in your family has gotten a stroke? At what age?

[quote]dannyrat wrote:
As I understand, a stroke is when your brain is starved of oxygen? So maybe holding your breath/valsava technique would be best avoided?
[/quote]
Holding your breath for a few seconds =/= a stroke
But there’s the off chance it might increase the risk of a plaque rupturing and causing a stroke.

[quote]kakno wrote:

[quote]Alex89 wrote: