T Nation

Heavy Duty

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum and I thought I would get in on posting some knowledge.

weight: 180

I have been training for 13 years on and off and I recently started the Heavy Duty program, with a 30/30/30 caloric split @ 3000 calorie per day.

Before going HD I was 1 on 2 days off....

4 weeks now and I am up from 170 to 180 I am very happy training to "complete" failure once or twice a week and making gains naturally no pro hormone no test just food and dedication.

"Mike Mentzer knows his shit"

Everything works, but nothing works forever.

If memory serves, Mikey hated that phrase and had a lengthy philosophical diatribe rebutting it.

Makes one think...

Yeah I did some heavy duty type training a couple of months ago and blasted through a plateau. Now I'm lifting heavier weights than ever before and making strength gains every week.

When my gains start to peter out I'm going to do another 4wks or so of heavy duty training again and see if it works again. I want to do 100kg cleans and bench presses.

So, do you think no one else ever tried Mike's shit before you? HIT has been around since 1970.

Actually, you've just unloaded and went through an intensification phase, after a period of higher volume (accumulation). Poliquin wrote about this years ago:

http://www.t-nation.com/findArticle.do?article=1maxim

and there's plenty more to read about the whole concept here.

Glad you're having progress, keep it up as long as you can, but when you eventually stall, don't get caught up in Mike's philosophical ramblings. He really had no clue about physiology or proper training.

Have you checked the routines on this site?

What is "proper training"? Id guess that its training , that brings results. Many have gotten results using Mentzers theories ( or objective truths , as he would have put it).

I think he has benefit the body building world. Remember , he was one of the first too realise that bb train too long and too often.