T Nation

Heavier Lifters & Small ROM

I'm a beginner at the gym so I always listen to what somebody has to say and see if its true, but today a man at the gym said that when doing a seated db shoulder press to have my upper arms level to the floor and no lower. After he left I watched him and everything he did he only went half way.

The weight was heavy but I don't think he would make it if he went down all the way. Also later I overheard him say he couldn't go up in weight for the past few months.

Ive heard of not extending all the way on somethings like a curl so that your muscle is always under stress but this got me wondering. The guy was good sized but I would think if you only go down about half way benching would you really be doing any good?

Your right, and you should throw a dumbbell at his head.

Always use full range of motion as the primary exercise for that body part, and partials to overcome a sticking point. The only reason they say "don't extend your arm all the way" for curls is because it keeps tension on the muscle and not on hyperextending your arm.

benching and DB shoulder presses are two different things. benching you should always touch your chest. DB shoulder presses YOU should go down all the way since you are a beginner. In a few years It might change for you, but for now, full ROM.

Booo, I've been weight training for years and still take the dumbbell and barbell for presses down to my chest and in the case of the dumbbells I'm using two 110's. You just need a gym that doesn't care if you drop them or someone to grab one so that you can bring it down with two hands. Muscular Strength, Neurological Strength, Tendon Strength, and Bone strength are all results of proper form and range of motion.