Health Insurance, Self-Employed?

Figured I’d see if anyone has good suggestions on a good health insurance company. I am a personal trainer and the company I work for does not have a good health insurance reduction. They want me to pay around 250 a month plus deductable. I have found one from State Farm which is 120 a month with a 2100 deductable after which insurance covers 100%. This seems ridiculous to me and as someone who is in shape it is tough to stomach paying this much money even though I will hardly ever go to the doctor anyway. Just curious if anyone else had some good suggestions.

IMO, there is no such thing as a good health insurance company. They pretty much fuck you over one way or the other. I don’t know the exact figure, but for my brother’s family and myself it’s something like $1300/month.

Office visits are $35 co-pay, ER visits are $50 co-pay, and we have a 3 tier system for prescriptions, $15/$30/$50 depending on what you get. The last time I was at the doctors office for some cold/flu shit they wanted to give my some antibiotics which where in the 3rd tier($50), I decided to take a few days off and rest and keep my $50.

And god forbid you have to have an operation or something, they only pay up to 75%.

That is why I think health care is a big issue with the election; 2 years ago I had a kidney stone. That was $5000 that would be the premiums for a couple of years, and there would have been a deductible. So in my opinion if you are self employed and in good health, pay your bills and if something catastrophic happens declare medical bankruptcy

You pay for health insurance for two reasons IMO.

1. In case the shit hits the fan.

2. For capitation. Paying street rate sucks.