T Nation

Headaches When Lifting

I just started training about a 10 months ago so im still pretty fresh in the sport. I have a freind who is overweight about 6:2 280lbs never been involved in ANY type of physical activity. Always just stayed home worked on computers and Games, he's cery good at fixing electronics.

So he has had this sedentary lifestyle for his whole life he is 25. Now he asked me to help him get in shape so i took him lifting with me twice. First day i showed him deadlifts and i had him practice with 95 lbs and then we did some leg pressing and some walking and some upperback work. After the last excercise (leg press) he was complainng of a horrible headache so he went home. Next time we worked out we did bench press dumbell shoulder press and some rows. Again he started complaining of a bad headche. I asked him if his doctor gave him the ok to qork out and he said yes.

Now personally when i first started training this never happened to me but although it was my first time seriously training with weights i have been relatively active all my life. Liked swimming basketball bike riding ect..
.so my question is ...Are his headaches just because his body isnt used to the work load? Shouold we start slowr or will he just get used to it?

I have also heard that lifting heavy can momentarily raise your Blood pressure so if he already has high blood pressure could the added stress be giving him the headaches?

It could be stress or illness too. I know sometimes I get bad headaches at the gym for that reason.

Could you describe what kind of headache it is? I remember pulling a neck muscle on leg press one time and after that lifting ANYTHING gave me a a crushing tension headache. The pain would creep up the back of my neck and wrap around my head until it got to my forehead and temples. Not good.