T Nation

Headaches After Training

Hi.

Within the last year or so I have started getting headaches after I exercise. I am 31 and have been very active all of my life.

I was in the british forces for 6 years and the exercise I now do isnâ??t a patch on what I was doing, yet I never got headaches after.

I donâ??t train as consistently as I used to and have recently started back after a couple of months of rest.

When I first started getting them, they occurred after almost every session and once I started lifting heavier weights they became more painful.

I have just finished a session and it has been the worst one that I have had, although it only lasted 5 minutes or so.

I am unsure of what to do so would appreciate any advice.

Many thanks.

high blood pressure?

High blood pressure during exercise or in general.

If during exercise, is this normal and ok.

If it is in general what is the best way to sort this out.

Many thanks.

Sounds like High Blood pressure. Blood pressure naturally rises during exercise…but if yours gets to the point where it gives you headaches you need to see a doctor and get a blood test and a blood pressure evaluation. That way they can get your bp under control. IF its not that see a doc anyway! Thats pretty serious.

another possibility is muscle tension/knots in the upper trapezius area. I have had trigger
point work to alleviate this in the past. It is amazing how painful the knots can be when someone starts working them out. definitely check the blood pressure, but also check out referal pain.

http://www.pressurepointer.com/trapezius_trigger_points.htm

-good luck

-by the way, you can hit these points really good by lying on a tennis or racket ball

[quote]deuce22 wrote:
High blood pressure during exercise or in general.

If during exercise, is this normal and ok.

If it is in general what is the best way to sort this out.

Many thanks.[/quote]

do you use steroids?