T Nation

Head Ache While Lifting

So I’m very new to lifting. I’ve only been training for a few months now, and occasionally I would get headaches while lifting. Once I even felt a pop at the top of my neck. I read up on it and decided I was getting these head aches because I wasn’t exhaling properly when I lifted. I started taking that into concideration and the head aches went away.

Well I took a couple weeks off and last week I went back to the gym for the first time. I was pretty pumped about lifting again, but during my first set, I suddenly got a massive headache. I took a water break, and when I tried to do another set, I couldn’t even lift the weight without feeling sick. That headache stayed for two days, so I made an appointment with my friend who is a massage therapist. He fixed me up and I took a few more days off with no heady lifting.

Today I decided to give it another go, but after only a few reps I got this head ache again. Twelve hours later I’m still hurting.

The headache is on the left side of my head, in the back where my spine meets the skull. Both instances, I was definately focusing on my breathing.

I’m frusterated because I havn’t gotten to lift in over three weeks now. I’m young, 18, and I’m lifting to gain muscle, and lose weight. I feel like I’m wasting time not being able to lift. What should I do?

Are you hydrated??

Are you taking a LOT of stims??

How are your electrolytes, sodium and potassium,

Breath brotha.

Is it during a certain exercise or any??

Hows your BP??

May want to see a doc for a persistent problem

Phill

Sounds like one of your neck muscles is overactive. Static stretch your neck (gently pull your head to either side) before you lift. Also make sure you keep your head tilted back a little bit while lifting. Do not bury your chin into your chest.