T Nation

Have I Made Good Progress in Three Months?

I'm not a beginner but I might as well call myself one because I haven't touched a barbell for over three years. I hurt my should three years ago and just never found the time to hit the gym. It's finally healed so I used all my previous knowledge to jump right in. The only issue is i'm pretty much the same weight I began at.

I knew I was going to lose fat and gain muscle in the first few months and then it'll slow down incredibly but muscle weighs more than fat so I though i'd at least increase a few lbs. anyways enough blabbering these are my before and after pics

Sure, you look better. The first photo is poor, but basically you went from “skinny-fat” to someone who is in good shape, who has built some noticeable muscle. You maybe gained 10 pounds of muscle and dropped 13 pounds of fat. Maybe. In my opinion, if you lost a tad more body fat, you would be able to display those muscles even more- despite the fact you may drop down to 160.

A better question is how long have you been training, and how has your strength progressed on big compound movements over this time?

Since you stated you have not touched a BB in 3 years, this is the perfect time to squat, bench, press, and deadlift. Do this heavy and intense, with a serious focus on nutrition, and you should make some solid gains. If you gained right (not a sloppy bulk where most of the weight is fat and water), if you got up to a solid 170 with 5 or more of that being muscle, it would make a pretty big difference.

[quote]Brett620 wrote:
Sure, you look better. The first photo is poor, but basically you went from “skinny-fat” to someone who is in good shape, who has built some noticeable muscle. You maybe gained 10 pounds of muscle and dropped 13 pounds of fat. Maybe. In my opinion, if you lost a tad more body fat, you would be able to display those muscles even more- despite the fact you may drop down to 160.