Hardgainers Template 2 Days/Week?

Jim,
please excuse my English.

I’m a French doctor and because of work 24 hours in the emergency room I can
only train twice a week.
I train the busyman way (Effective Training for Busy Men)

I’ve just read your lastest article on hardgainers, and I think I’m a typical
one. I’m 6’3 ; 171 Lbs ; maxes B,S,DL 180, 200, 220…

Do you think I should continue to use the busyman template, or could I run the hardgainer one but only twice a week ? (week one : day 1 + day 2 ; week two :
day 3 + day 4).
OR is it possible to tweak the hardgainer template for a two days rotation ?

Thanks a lot in advance.
Mat’

You can try using the Hardgainer template two times/week - just using squat/bench on one day and dead/press the other day OR something like you wrote. I’m not a huge fan of this though but it can be done. You’d have to change your assistance work and what I’d recommend, IF POSSIBLE, would be to find two days/week (or more) to do bodyweight stuff (push-ups, squats, lunges, leg raises, dips, chin-ups) and see if you can get some work in.

The other thing you can do is this:

Week one

Monday

Squat - 5’s PRO, BBS or BBB or Widowmaker or 5x5/3/1
Bench - 5’s Pro, 3x5 FSL

Thursday

Deadlift - 5s PRO, 3x5 FSL
Press - see squat above for options

Week two

Monday

Squat - 5’s PRO, 3x5 FSL
Bench - see above for options

Thursday

Deadlift - see above for options
Press - 5’s PRO, 3x5 FSL

Everyday Shit:

Push-ups x 100 total reps
Chin-ups x 50 total reps
1 mile run

That’s just an example but you get the point.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot.

Best regards

hi jim

would you do push ups and chins everyday inseason practice tue and thur play sats

Who has one practice during a week? How is that even possible?