T Nation

Hardgainer or Not?

hey guys, iv'e been hitting the gym for around a year and a half now and am looking for advice on training and nutrition. I am 6' 2 and my starting weight was around 64kgs and after a year and a halfs time have touched 78kgs.

During the first 8 months i was going to the gym almost everyday for about 2hrs doing easily +15 sets a muscle group, just doing alot of arm exercises and basically upper-body work, although i avoided chest, a stupid mistake. Clearly i was a complete noob and thought growing was alot more simple. During this time i was working really odd hours and as a result had a pretty poor diet. At most eating 3 meals a day with maybe 60g protein powder per day. I was tracking my weight and i hit the 70-71kg mark.

Around the year mark i added a mass-gainer for 2 months and kept the same diet, then my weight went from 71 to 78-79kgs. I however noticed that i started getting a gut so ended the massgainer but however started eating regular meals, 4 or 5 a day. After doing so i dropped 3kgs and have been on that weight ever since.

My current diet consists of 5 meals that all up contain; 220g of protein, 380g of carbs, 80g fat and 2700 cal. With these stats i have not dropped or gained weight in over 5 months. I will be adding the massgainer back in to add another 1200 cal, 50 protein and 350 carbs.

Now with this information can anyone tell me weather or not i would be classed as a "hardgainer"? Or have any advice in what my workout should look like? The reason i am confused is because i match the description of one but then as you can see in my first year of going to the gym i was working out in a mannor not fit for a hardgainer and eating like an absolute idiot but yet i gained...

Also i would like to add in that i'm not considering using gear, i have nothing against it but i'm in Australia :slight_smile:

no you are not a hardgainer...

Read around here. You need to eat more and train differently.