T Nation

Hard Core Gym

Hey,
I don’t know about you guys, but where I live there is no such thing as a “hard core” gym. There’s gold’s…nough said. Not knocking on Gold’s or anything but I was thinking of something different. Here’s the deal, when I get out of college I’m going to be trying for a CPA…okay, stop laughing now…anyway, I’ve decided that if I don’t like my job in a few years, I’m starting a hard core gym. I know I’m relatively new to the iron game, but I know that this is def. a great plan B. So, my question to you all is in all honesty what type of market is there for a hardcore gym. And by hardcore, I mean getting all the best equipment from Dave Tate’s sight and just allowing guys to get big without giving em a lot of shit. Oh, and I thought it was funny that Dave said in a recent article to outlaw spandex in your gym, but I digress. Yeah, so who thinks that a strictly hardcore gym located somewhere on the East Coast, probably Va, would be successful? Just tell it to me straight, also, what would you look for in this gym?

Not trying to discourage you or flame you, but do a search or just read through some old threads. This exact thread (pretty much) has been done many times before.

As to your location, guys in that area will have to respond, although it’s pretty hard to predict the market “when you get tired of your job”.

Lord knows I would love a hard-core gym, or at least one with db’s over 100lbs.

there’s nothing wrong with spandex, on the right butt.

The great thing about a hardcore gym is that the equipment is relatively cheap. You could buy Everything you could ever want for 50k. With this type of place you could get by with maybe 10 pieces of equipment and multiple types of quality bars. As far as the market goes-you create the market. This type of facility is more about the owner and the “core” group than the kind of equipment you buy.

Power Rack
Competition Bench
Adjustable bench
Glute Ham
Reverse Hyper
Adjustable Oly Dumbbells