Hang Power Clean Form Check

For reference, best power clean is 200, front squat 275 and deadlift 425. Some days feel very good with cleans and others not, this was definitely a bad day.

I have no aspirations in Oly lifting but I’d at least like to get halfway competent with the lift. I have Greg Everett’s book, to me it looks like I’m not getting a whole lot of hip extension.

I am no pro at oly lifting but have been doing cleans. I just have one question why are you lifting it up then stopping then trying to clean it. If you keep your momentum going from the lift off the floor into the explosive part you will generate more power for the clean. Like I said though I am not a pro at this shit just an observation.

Firstly let me start by saying “what are you training for” …if you want to squat clean some day, stop what you are doing immediatley, not that what you are doing is bad, but there are better ways to build a squat clean.

However you have no aspirations of being a OL (but have Greg Everetts book…hence the query) so my only gripe is you should lower the bar more down your thighs, you are using, especially on the heavy weight, only your top pull, too much upper body, too slow. Hard to improve speed and form when using near max weights. Go lighter and faster.

I would also do some pulls, from below knees or floor, to focus on the traps, rise on toes, delay with arms,
etc

How can u front squat more than you can pull? most guys can pull more than they can front squat because its explosive and an entire body movement. back when i had an OL day in my split my best power clean was 245 but i could rack 275 but not get it out of the bottom. i might be confusing myself.

I’m not very good a coaching and I can’t even sort my own faults out in the oly lifts, however I did notice a couple of things.