Hang Clean Correlation

Listen, i dont get it, i suck at hang cleans, my form isnt that awful, but heres the thing…Im faster and can jump higher than most guys on my football team,and im 215 lbs…so i dont have an advantage of being light…but for some reason, an exercise like the hang clean is something that im not good at and its supposed to be explosive but im more exlosive than 95% of my team…i dont get it. Any help here?

[quote]bantamlb5 wrote:
Listen, i dont get it, i suck at hang cleans, my form isnt that awful, but heres the thing…Im faster and can jump higher than most guys on my football team,and im 215 lbs…so i dont have an advantage of being light…but for some reason, an exercise like the hang clean is something that im not good at and its supposed to be explosive but im more exlosive than 95% of my team…i dont get it. Any help here?
[/quote]

How do you measure your explosiveness–where does 95% come from? Just because you feel you are bad at the particular exercise does not mean that you should experience any correlation between your performance in the clean and and your performance on the field. It is hard to determine cause and effect based on any correlation between the two lifts. What other types of explosive lifts do you perform?

Also, how do you perform your jumps; statically or from a squat position–do you use your arms for momentum? There are other parameters at play including overall leg strength.

are you getting playing time?

don’t sweat it. the strongest guy isn’t always the best player. what you need to be focusing on is your on field ability.

i have seen a ton of stong guys that are terrible on the field becuase they can’t move, and recruiters never asked about cleans or bennch during our pro-days. they wanted 40, vertical, t-drill, and to see the guys run plays.

i know i didn’t answer your question, but hopefully it settled your mind down a little.