Hand Pain on Cleans

Hi all,

I’m new to the O lifts and I’ve been experiencing some pain in my left hand on the catch. It’s right in the middle of my hand, obviously I’m doing something wrong. Has anyone else experienced this? Any ideas what it could be?

Sorry, it’s a little vague I know, I appreciate any help you can offer.

[quote]usmccds423 wrote:
Hi all,

I’m new to the O lifts and I’ve been experiencing some pain in my left hand on the catch. It’s right in the middle of my hand, obviously I’m doing something wrong. Has anyone else experienced this? Any ideas what it could be?

Sorry, it’s a little vague I know, I appreciate any help you can offer. [/quote]

hows your rack position? Are you catching the bar on your delts?

Working with the little info given I would say it is most likely lack of wrist flexibility (I know I had to work through some pain when I first started front squatting) or as Facepalm_Death suggested, it could be your rack position. With the rack position you need to get your elbows around fast and high so the bar rests on the front delts. A lot of beginners tend to catch the bar with low elbows which means the weight bears down on the hands and forearms. Not an ideal position.

Thanks for the replies, it is probably the rack position. I’ve noticed my elbows are low even when using lower weights. I’ll post a video when I get a chance.

Thanks
-Chris

[video]2597[/video]

Here’s a video where my hand is fine (although the lift itself needs work). I have a lift at home on video where my palm hurts, I’ll try and post that tonight.

Any suggestions on the lift I posted though? The first thing I noticed is it’s more of a power clean and then a front squat (2 movements) vs. 1 fluid movement. Any form suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks

[quote]usmccds423 wrote:
[video]2597[/video]

Here’s a video where my hand is fine (although the lift itself needs work). I have a lift at home on video where my palm hurts, I’ll try and post that tonight.