T Nation

Haleys Workout Log

So I started lifting weighs in Sept. of 2010 and I use the 5-3-1 program.

Beginning weight for 4 main lifts: Deadlift 95lbs x8, overhead press 45lbs x6+(2 push press), bench press 75lbs x6, squats 75 x20

Current weights:
Deadlift 185 x8
Overhead 75 x5+(2 push press)
Bench 95 x5+(1 assisted) (tomorrow I try for 105lbs)
Squats 120 x20 (Friday I try for 135lbs)

Welcome.

It would be helpful to know some background. Height. Weight. Age. Goals.

And if you’re doing 20 squats at 120 lb., there’s no “trying” for 135. You’re already way past it.

thanks and that’s a good idea, wasn’t sure how to start it out :slight_smile: As I said I just started lifting and prior to that all of my exorcise came from working on a farm. I’m 5’4" and 135 lbs and 22 years old. My goals are 260 in deadlift, 110 overhead, 180 bench, and 220 in squats as far as weights go. Long-term goals are just to stay healthy and strong and continue to enjoy the high that comes from working out. This isn’t quite relevant but I also want to get my doctorate in veterinary medicine.

I do also need to bump up the weight on the squats but for some reason the form didn’t come easily to me, hence the low weight, it’s improved tremendously so now I can move up quickly.

Haley: I’m glad you decided to keep a log. You have made some rapid progress on 5-3-1! I’m looking forward to following along.

Welcome. Looking forward to following your progress.

Have you tested your 1 rep maxes at all? I only ask because when I first started 531, I found that I could rep out “lighter” weight, but couldn’t hit anywhere near where my estimated maxes are. Just curious what you have found!

[quote]Polsen714 wrote:
Have you tested your 1 rep maxes at all? I only ask because when I first started 531, I found that I could rep out “lighter” weight, but couldn’t hit anywhere near where my estimated maxes are. Just curious what you have found![/quote]