T Nation

Gymnastic Bodies + Power Lifts?

does anyone here do a combo like this? a previous neck and low back injury has made me gun shy of powerlifting again, I do professional wrestling and would like to find the most effective way to get back into the game. I've been all sizes from 165-215 but a balanced out 180lbs is where I feel the best. The Gynmasticbodies site has gotten alot of my attention and I think it would be a great asset, would it combine well with adding in some power lifts or bandwork? or would that be counter productive? Any and all advice is appreciated, thanks.

Wrong forum maybe?

wrong forum i'm pretty sure.

not the wrong forum, I said I was a wrestler, so trying to get advice from other combat athletes on if they have heard of this or if they have any better resources.

I am sorry, but outside of stating that Coach Sommers has an excellant reputation I have no direct knowledge of that sight.

Mark Bell/Jackass from Supertraining was a pro wrestler. Maybe go to the Supertraining forum?

Aside from that I would try to figure out exactly what you need for Pro Wrestling and than make sure to try to address those qualities.

Looks/size, strength for the lifts/throws, injury prevention, etc.

Robert A

I haven't seen supertraining yet, I'll take a look, is that Mark Bell of the Bell brothers? sure it wasn't Mike Bell?

by the way, thanks Robert...with my wrestling style pro wrestling training wouldn't bee too much different than most other combat/MMA training, that's why I check these forums

You know what mean Gene, what'ch gonna do when Hulkamnia runs wild on you!

Yes, it's Mark. Both wrestled pro.

I'm going to assume krazylarry was making a joke...spar4tee, I didn't know that, so far from what I've found power lifts definatley boost strength and explosiveness obviously but if you don't balance it out it's a hindrance in grappling, I trained that way for many years but my spine and joints definatley don't want solely a powerlifting regime