GVT vs. Waterbury

I have been training for 4 months using the routines suggested in Waterbury’s Huge in a Hurry with good success, but I am in need of a change. I remember using Poliquin’s German Volume Training years ago with success and I am going to give that a go again. Here’s my question: Waterbury’s theory of lifting ‘as fast as possible in good form’ to recruit maximum motor units rings true with me, but it is in opposition to the 4-0-2 tempo suggested in GVT.

Any thougts? I was thinking that combining the old with the new might be great, but i’m not educated enough in this area to begin challenging someone like Poliquin on this. I’m thinking this was done for a reason. Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

you will still want to get your time under tension eccentric, but (if i recall correctly) slower concentric is for beginners on phase 1 GVT.

you’ve completed a 10x10 already so you could go with max concentric while still benefiting from the time under tension burn.

please post back your results with the GVT (i hurt my back so i’m doing phase 1 now with leg press as my adaption and it’s a fun program)

Thanks Thrux for the help. I have been slacking lately and need to get squared away. I have a good build, but I am ectomorphic and must always keep quality cals. coming in. My personal life has been hectic and that’s when I begin to slip (missing meals). I know GVT demands proper food intake and that’s what i’m going to do. Thanks again. I’ll post the results from my 8 week GVT routine.

This is just stupid.

Just lift weights and eat food. There is no exact science or formula to go along with this.

Nor do you need to follow some exact, pre-written program - in fact it is probably better if you do not.

::edit::

And what results could you possibly have to post about after only 8 WEEKS.

also, facepalm @ “ectomorph”.