Guitar question...

Hey everyone…I know this is really off topic but here goes…
I just started to take guitar lessons and I am like wtf? How long did it take you guys before you started to get the feel. I feel like I am never going to get the hang of this thing…
Anyone have any suggestions on how often I should practice, or any good tutorials (cd rom etc…)? I am dedicated but man, I am losing my mind.
Thanks in advance.
Mike

Play as often as you can and make friends with guitarists that are better than you. I felt that I always made the most progress when playing with someone who was much better than I was. And remember that it should not feel like work, it should be something that you enjoy.

I have been playing for 15 years now and I would say that I started getting a feel for it after 2 years; this was relative to electric guitar and playing leads. Like anything, it just takes patience and practice.

The one thing you can do besides practicing whenever possible is to listen to guitar players that are simple and yet musically brilliant. Stevie Ray Vaughan would be a good start.

Try any exercize that stretches your fingers. Also use a grip strengthener. Then, try to play for about an hour a day. I’ve been playing for close to 20 years and the hardest thing to get used to was the finger positioning. It took a good 6 months of practice.

Ditto to Lucid’s point.Listen to everyone,but don’t try to play like them.That never works.Hang around your local music store on Sat.afternoon,thats when the hot local players seem to come out and most aren’t shy about sharing what they know.
It took me about 1 1/2 yrs before I felt I had a decent grip on it.

Guys, thanks for the responses! I’ll without a doubt give those suggestions a try!
Thanks again,
Mike

Its still kind of early yet since you just started playing… but, the sooner you start looking away from the fretboard while you play, the better off you’ll be. Play by sound, not by where the notes are on the guitar…