T Nation

Guitar Players: What Songs?

What songs sound good on a Fender Stratcaster? I have a Washburn Lyon, modeled after a strat. Some of the more punk/metal songs I try sound too twangy. So far the ones that sound good are:
7 Nation Army
Smoke On The Water
Plush

Yes, I’m a guitar newb.

I LOVE music, but am not a guitar player. If you can play Crazy Train as done by Randy Rhodes, I’d say you’re doing pretty good.

Oh yeah, everytime I hear the beginning of Smoke on the Water I get goose bumps and I’m jealous that you can play it.

I am a guitar player–more classical and jazz now, but I started on rock.

Any songs sound good on whatever guitar. Learn what you want to play, that’s the key. I would recommend you try and find a teacher if you don’t have one already. You’ll progress much quicker.

This will entertain you for days, if not weeks.

[quote]boyscout wrote:
Any songs sound good on whatever guitar. Learn what you want to play, that’s the key. I would recommend you try and find a teacher if you don’t have one already. You’ll progress much quicker.[/quote]

I dunno, I’m just asking what songs were played on a strat normally, because when I play “Holiday” (Green Day), the song doesn’t sound as “full” as it should be. Another one to add to the list despite the fact that is causes onset arthritis at the age of 19:

You Really Got Me (Kinks version, although at the highest power chord sequence I play the strings muted)

It’s all about tone…Strats have a “signature sound” due to the layout and type of pickups used…Play around with the tone controls and learn what they can produce (the old school method), or do it the modern (lazy?)way and just buy one of the many guitar processors made these days to dial in various tones to fit the song/type of music you want to play…

(BTW, Ritchie Blackmore always used Strats, which is likely why “Smoke on the Water” sounds “right” on your
'git-fiddle"/:wink:

[quote]DtotheG wrote: