T Nation

Guidelines For Creatine Use?

I am a poor college student.
Enough said, I decided that I want to get big but since school dining hall food is just horrendous, I can not get too much protein from it. Anyway, I have been contemplating about using creatine and finally purchased micronized creatine monohydrates. I have been using it for almost 4 weeks, but I see no result. Can I get some guidelines in using creatine.

PS. I take 5g of creatine everyday(even off-days), less than 30 minutes post workout. I also try to drink a lot of water.
Thanks, if I am doing something stupid or let me know, I will take any advices.

Your doing it right 5g a day that simple it may add a few lbs of water due to the Increased ATP stores and hydration, thats about it for thew weight gain aspect. Youll have to eat more. It and no supp can replace food, with the exception of food supps like protein powders and bars

Phill

[quote]ghdtpdna wrote:
I am a poor college student.
Enough said, I decided that I want to get big but since school dining hall food is just horrendous, I can not get too much protein from it. Anyway, I have been contemplating about using creatine and finally purchased micronized creatine monohydrates. I have been using it for almost 4 weeks, but I see no result. Can I get some guidelines in using creatine.

PS. I take 5g of creatine everyday(even off-days), less than 30 minutes post workout. I also try to drink a lot of water.
Thanks, if I am doing something stupid or let me know, I will take any advices.[/quote]

Many myself included only use creatine post-workout. For me that is only three days per week. Creatine won’t give results in the face of poor overall nutrition. You must have appropriate overall calorie consumption, plenty of protein, carbs, and healthy fats, to stimulate muscle gains. If you have these areas covered creatine will help with muscle cell energy (ATP) and cellular hydration. Read up on it in the T-Nation store for further info.

D