T Nation

Growing/Bulking Plan Help


#1

Hey guys was hoping to get some advice on my current nutrition plan for bulking.
First a little about myself.
I am 6'2 and weigh 205lbs. I have a bit of a ponch but little to no fat anywhere else.
My bf is most likely around 15%. I do cardio once a week in the form of floor hockey. I play goalie for an hour every wednesday. Besides that its all lifting.

I start my workouts with 10 mins on the spin bike and usually finish workouts with 10mins on the spin bike to help reduce DOMS.

I know I should but I am not really a big egg eater. They make me feel a little bit sick so I usually stay away from them. I also don't count veggies for calories. I try to use more food then sups but I might have a few too many right now? I get most of my sups for free so it isn't a problem to use more or less.

Meal 1 - 1 cup oats, 2 scoops protein, vege greens and phyto berry, 1 cup of milk.
661 cal 10f,71c,71p

Meal 2 - 1 cup chicken, 1.5 cups brown rice, green veggies
707 cal 19f,67c,67p

Pre-workout - 1 scoop protein
124 cal 0f,1c,30p

Post-workout - 1 scoop vitargo, 2 scoops protein
388 cal 0f,37c,60p

Meal 3 - 1.5cup extra lean ground beef drained, 2 tablespoons natural PB, green veggies
551 cal 35f,6c,53p

Meal 4 (snack) - 1 can tuna, 1 tablespoon mayo
228 cal 12f,0c,30p

Meal 5 - 3 scoops muscle juice
771 cal 10.5f,127.5c,42p

Meal 6 - 1.5cup chicken, green veggies, 2.5 tablespoon flaxseed oil
564cal 36f,0c,60p

Bed - take fish oils

Totals: 4000cal, 123f, 310c, 413p

What do you guys think?


#2

Way more protein than necessary IMO.


#3

The protein is absolutely fine.

Actually, I'm amazed to find myself say that your bulking diet should be fine. I would make changes personally (e.g. I would probably take out the mayo and sub in something, etc), but on the whole--looks good. Best of luck.


#4

Looks fine to me. It's awesome if you can be that precise/strict day in and day out. I need a little flexibility because of family/work, etc so I use ranges for my macros. I'm close to your stats - 6'1", 215 lbs, approx 15% bf, so the numbers aren't too far off where you'd be at. What I'm using is 4100 - 4400 cals, 298-512 p, 132-227 f, 298-448 c per day.

This way I don't have to stress about things and can go out to eat if I want, eat the same dinner as my wife and kids, and have some variety - all I need to do is adjust the rest of the day a little and it works out fine.


#5

Thanks guys.

Tougher - I live with my girlfriend and I am a student. She doesn't like most of the foods I eat so I cook for myself as well as my schedule is very very flexible for what/when I eat/workout. The only thing that I have to change is when I work if it is really busy I have to skip the food and have a weight gainer shake. But I agree, a range is a lot less hectic and allows less stress when it comes to the food situation.