T Nation

Grow! and A Banana = Surge?

I just purchased some Surge and Grow! (And got KILLED ON SHIPPING!) and have a question about the former. I am a poor college student so I need to use this sparingly. I figure I will only use it after hitting the weights and never after cardio. That means I use it 3 times a week, which gets about a month or so.

Since I won’t be using it after cardio to save money, is just some whey and a banana good, with a large meal 1 hour post?

Good idea. Use Surge post workout, I do and only lift three times per week. As you surmised this will extend your Surge and the Banana and Grow! after cardio will work for recovery.

Take care,

D

[quote]T-man21 wrote:
Since I won’t be using it after cardio to save money, is just some whey and a banana good, with a large meal 1 hour post?[/quote]

It’s not ideal, but seldom are most things in life.

Do the best with what you have available. If you can mix your Grow! with skim milk to boost caloric and carbohydrate content.

Gatorade and protein powder
Chocolate milk
Dextrose and protein powder
etc

T-Man, there wouldn’t be anything wrong with just following your normal diet/eating patterns following cardio and allowing yoru body to draw on stored body fat to meet any temporary caloric deficits. It’s only when someone is doing marathon training (or longer/extended practice sessions that have a high cardiovascular component) that I’ll recommend they add in added PWO starchy carbs.

Remember that the carbs in Surge are used for spiking insulin, lowering cortisol and shuttling the quick-digesting proteins to the muscles you just worked. Surge is designed to facilitate repair of the muscles you worked out and get a head start on refilling muscle glycogen. If you just did cardio, you didn’t create a stimulus for growth and don’t need to use Surge.

[quote]T-man21 wrote:
Since I won’t be using it after cardio to save money, is just some whey and a banana good, with a large meal 1 hour post?[/quote]