Grippers

i just recently got my first captian of crush gripper. i got the number 1. and i am wonodering what inprovement ppl have got from these. how they trained and what they would of done diff in hind site.

I got my first awhile back (no.1) at first I couldn’t close it more than 5x’s especially on my left hand due to smashing it up several times. I got alot of good advice on how to correct this problem and now I can close it 15 times. I’ve done this in conjunction with timed bar hands at the end of my workouts (2 sets for max time). It’s a little too early to tell but I do believe it’s helping quite a bit. Simply put things that used to seem harder to hold are easier to hold. I can also do more chins.

so when and how often do u trian with them?

I’ve been training with them off and on for a few years now, finally getting serious and going to shut the #3 this year.

There are tons of different ways to train with grippers. Hand strength traiing overall has really gotten to be a popular thing in the last four or five years, lots of companies with grippers now, and a lot of good sites on the net with info on training. www.gripboard.com is a good place to start.

I train daily with mine, doing tied holds with the #1. Do five sets a day so far, just pick it up randomly throughout my day do two reps, then hold for time on the third. Start at 15 seconds, next time, 20, and add five each time. Did this for a week and didn’t pick up my #2 for that week. Was at 1/8 again on it, had lost the close. After a week of 30 sec holds on the #1, ground the #2, no problem. When I hit 60 or 70 seconds on the #1, will do the same on the #2, and when I can hit 60 seconds and 10 solid reps on it, will hit the #3.

Grip training is fun, very addictive. Also doing levering, can lever a 12lb sledge right now, want the 16 lb. lever by Christmas.