Grip During Clean Jerk?

I’ve been lifting for a while, but only recently got into O-lifting.

I’m still learning the technique and using low weight, but I’m starting to have a problem when resting the bat on my shoulders.

It is getting to the point that even doing a set of power jerks, I’m limited by how long I can rest the bar on my shoulders more so than the actual lift.

If I assume natural position for my hands on the bar, it really presses on my shoulders (that’s ok), but also the tip of my collarbone (at the center of the body), and also strains my neck.

I’ve tried moving my hands closer together, but that leads to a very strained position for my wrist, and also makes it hard to stabilize the weight once I have it over my head.

Granted, there might not be enough meat on my shoulders right now, but even if growth will resolve this issue, I would like to have some temporary solution.

Any advice will be appreciated.
If necessary, I can try and get a picture of my holding a bar (though I can’t take pics in my gym, so it wouldn’t be a real O-bar)

Thanks.

Go to mikesgym.org, crossfit.com gaylehatch.com they all have good info about olympic weightlifting.

You might not have enough meat on your shoulders, and you might just have to give it time.

When I first started doing front squats, it hurt my shoulders and collarbone to hold the bar, but I got used to it. Now I don’t even notice it up there.

Your hand position isn’t going to fix the issue since you’re supposed to rest the bar across your shoulders. Your hands aren’t going to be taking any of the weight while the bar is just sitting there, so it doesn’t matter where they are.

Your problem sounds like the typical discomfort lifters get when they first start. Give it time and it’ll go away.

This is how I hold it for power jerks and Jerks.

I have high elbows as I use to have a tendency to drop my chest and have the ar roll down slowly and crumple my back when I was starting out.