T Nation

Great Site! First Question

Thanks to all for such a great resource for people, like me, who have been lifting weights the wrong way for years.

Looking for a little help here. Just finished my fourth week on the Waterbury Method. I've been lifting on and off for a couple years, but never really committed myself until now. I first did some basic routines to strengthen up before the WM. I have followed the plan as directed and have enjoyed amazing strength gains every week, every excercise.

What I am seeing is great strength, but I don't really look any different. Even my wife said she can't believe how much I'm lifting after four weeks, and wonders why it doesn't show. My muscle are harder, especially the large groups, but not bigger at all.

I eat 6 meals a day, totaling about 3000-3400 per day. Great proteins, fruits, veggies, oatmeal, and some good fats. I haven't really lost any body fat, so I'm guessing I'm not in a deficit situation.

A year ago I used a basic 3 day split, working each group once per week, using a 3x10 scheme, and going to failure on the last set. My strength gains after a month of that were not even close to what they have been with the W. Method, however, I did see some some hypertrophy results after four weeks. My chest/shoulders looked strong and my arms looked like I was working out.

So...is it possible that some lifters simply need more time for their muscles to grow between trainings? I read where Chad said he never met a person who didn't totally recover in 48 hours. I prefer Chad's routines, and would like to continue on to his Total Body Training program. I love this new strength, but would like to have something to show for it.

Am i missing something here? Sorry for the long post. Thanks

Great you are getting stronger...

If you wish bigger then you need to use a different method of training or at least cycle your training methods...

Strength and size are not always exclusive...