Grapefruit Juice and Drug Metabolism

I had heard that grapfruit juice slows the rate the the body metabolizes most drugs - is there any truth to this, and if so how much would be necessary to have any significant effect?

hi there, it actually enhances absorption

here is a link of a previous thread regarding this topic

http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/diet_performance_nutrition_supplements/grapefruit_assistan

Thank you!

I haven’t read the link Octobergirl posted, but I work in the social care field. One of my clients has had a kidney transplant and is on a few anti-rejection drugs. He is forbidden to have grapefruit juice for the exact reason you stated- his pills will have diminished effects.

I actually get a ‘Bad SQL’ message when I click on that link^^^

[quote]Badunk wrote:
I haven’t read the link Octobergirl posted, but I work in the social care field. One of my clients has had a kidney transplant and is on a few anti-rejection drugs. He is forbidden to have grapefruit juice for the exact reason you stated- his pills will have diminished effects.[/quote]

hhhmmm in most cases grapefruit enhances absorption which is why you should not take your meds with grapefruit.

try this link
http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/diet_performance_nutrition_supplements/grapefruit_assistance?id=2487464&pageNo=1

if it doesn’t work, the title of the thread is “Grapefruit Assistance for Supps?”. I started it when I was considering using grapefruit to enhance my supp absorption.

use the Search Function “Grapefruit Assistance for Supps?”

Well, this guy takes a drug called Neoral and he can’t take grapefruit juice coz it neutralizes the meds. I haven’t researched it or anything, but it’s my job so I just follow his doctor’s advice. I will certainly check out your thread, though.