T Nation

Good Reading Material for Workouts

I've been training seriously for about 8 months now, but I still don't really have a solid workout routine.

I do chest/tri's on one day, legs on another, and back/bi's on the last. I've just had the mentality of "lift big, eat big, get big", and It's been working ok so far, but it feels pretty sloppy. I just do whatever exercises I feel like doing and I don't think I'm getting the results that I could be getting.

I'm looking for a good workout routine to help me build mass. I'm currently 170 lbs looking to gain a lot of weight (up from 140). I was just wondering what a good workout routine would be for me.

I don't mind looking into/buying books either if you have any recommendations. Something that covers nutrition too would be great. Preferably by someone who walks the walk, not someone who weighs as much as me. Thanks for any help.

as far as books go, I would recommend Chad Waterbury's "Huge In a Hurry". although there could be more on nutrition in there. you could try a John Berardi book if you're looking for more on nutrition. both of those guys walk the walk and know what they're talking about. they also both happen to write for T-Nation. read the stickies in this section too, there are some great articles posted in there written by Thibaudeau and others.

check out some of the routines on this page:

Scrawny to Brawny by John Berardi and Brawn by Stuart McRobert are good too.

i just started that book and actually got a lot (with some complimentary poliquin reading) on nutrition. something as simple as eating 20g of protein 6x/d has made a big difference for me mentally. coffee consumption is way down. i am hopeful for the body change in the months to come.

his big neuro-phys kick of lifting with speed intention is a lot of fun. for sure it demands your core for stabilization and i am trusting in the idea of major muscle recruitment.