T Nation

Good Program for Improving Front Squat

Hi,

I am looking for a program to improve my front squat. My age is 27 and I have been lifting weights for 6 years, but only the last two years I would consider real lifting, so I am still a beginner.

My stats are so far

Front Squat (ATG) = 80kg ~ 178 pounds
Deadlift = 130kg ~ 278 pounds
Power Hang Clean= 70kg ~ 155 pounds

BW = 65kg ~ 145 pounds
Height = 511`

I was doing WS4B 6 month long without good results. Right now I finished my fifth cycle of Wendlers 1-3-5, but it didn´t help my squat. My military press is still improving (from 1 x 100 pound to 6 x 115), but my squat stayed the same.
My long time goal is to front squat 1.5 BW.

I was thinking about Bill Starrs 5x5 or this on

http://www.criticalbench.com/westside_disease.htm

Does someone have a good program consideration for me?

Thanks,
Don

What happened in 5/3/1, you stalled?

Try more regular squats and some heavy ab exercises. A couple of my favorite variations on the front squat is to place the bar with some 25's on either side across my shoulders and do a regular front squat, but with my arms sticking straight out in front of me. This really helps to strengthen your abs and lower back as well.

The other variation is to place your heels on a 2x6 piece of wood or a 45lb plate or something along those lines and do front squats like that. This really blasts the quads, especially when done for higher reps. On Wendler's 531 program, I do this for 5 sets of 12 as one of the assistance exercises for the regular squat. Box squats and front squats from a box should help as well. Steroids are a certainly an option also and should not go unconsidered.

Steroids? for real? This is your advice for someone who considers himself a beginner?

Dude, no offense but with your numbers for the amount of time you've been lifting I'm guessing either your nutrition sucks, you don't lift that hard or both.

First of all, thanks for the answers!