T Nation

Good Proatmeal Recipes?

just trying to get my diet up to par and heard combo of protein and oatmeal cooked together is a good start… however, i have no experience with cooking such a meal, anyone know how to do this or what a good basic recipe is?

I always just pour my oats uncooked into my protein shake and let it sit for a little while. It’s still a little chewy, but I feel like I always get filled up better when I eat stuff I have to chew a lot(broccoli, oats, etc.)

Cook oats, stir in protein. The oats have cooking instructions on the package, probably something like bring 1 cup water to a boil, stir in oats and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Once they’re cooked, toss in the whey, stir, good to go. As @lord_humongous mentioned you could also toss them into your shake and leave them in there to expand a bit.

See I still suck at cooking oatmeal. Whenever I bring the water to a boil (as much water as it says to in the instructions) and let em simmer in it for half an hour, it still ends up just being a bunch of oats sitting in water. microwaving works, but I heard that degrades the nutritional value of the oats so I just put em in my shakes raw

great thanks will try both methods… if i come across any news ones i will share them back!

do you ever make a big batch and store or would that degrade anything?

Yes I’ve done that before, the whole protein degradation thing is overblown and not fully understood by most. Microwaving protein, baking with it, etc., all fine. You can definitely make a big batch, the only thing I’ve found is reheated proatmeal usually doesn’t have the same consistency or taste as good as when it’s first done. But cold proatmeal is also very tasty, so if I make a big batch, I’ll have one serving hot, the rest I’ll portion out in the fridge and have cold, quick and easy grab-and-go meal.