T Nation

Good Gyms in Chicago?

Does anyone know of any good private gyms in Chicago?

I have been training at Quads for almost two years, and I'm getting burned out. The owner is a hoarder, so there's very little room to move around anymore. I'm looking for a more spacious facility conducive to athletic performance, bodybuilding, PLing, etc. I.e. handful of squat racks, a few platforms, chains, conditioning equipment, etc.

Can’t help on this end, but curious as to (a) how training’s going and (b) what you’re training for these days–physique competition or just as a hobby at this point?

B&W.

Contact me at the email in my hub and I’ll give you a free guest pass.

There’s a ton of commercial gyms in the area: LPAC, LVAC, FFC, XSport, a couple LA Fitness…

I will be down in chicago in June

I’ll give you a guest pass, too.

Anybody else?

Are guest passes that special? Don’t most gyms offer them on their sites? Heck, I walked up to a Powerhouse and just asked if I could try it out for a few days.

Or does it include a physical by the good doctor?

Dennis (the owner) isn’t running a charity over here. You want to get strong, you pay the $10.

No physical, but I’d join you for a burger and a beer afterwards if you wanted. Let’s see where the night takes us from there.

[quote]MinusTheColon wrote:
Can’t help on this end, but curious as to (a) how training’s going and (b) what you’re training for these days–physique competition or just as a hobby at this point?[/quote]

No more physique competitions. Still pretty disciplined with dieting and training though. I actually just recently started a new program focusing on what I call a re-set. It focuses primarily on rebuilding efficiency in movement patterns and improving mobility. Tons of focus on core and glutes. It’s definitely the least sexy program I’ve done in years, but all towards a goal of being able to perform an overhead squat.

[quote]Dr. Pangloss wrote:
B&W.