Good gym in London? (For you Londoners)

Hey, I’m going to be studying abroad in London and was curious if there are any good (aka not planet fitness etc) gyms around the dorm I’m staying in.

If you need any more info please let me know.

Thanks for the help

I studied a broad in London a few years ago.

Hey, where’s that gym that Arnold trained at back in the 60s when he was there?

I work in a gym about 10 minutes from your location. Give me a shout if you want to come for a free workout.

I’d recommend these as some of the better equipped places around the city;

http://www.muscleworksgym.co.uk

http://www.jubileehalltrust.org/hall/

Austinsprodigy’s list is good. Muscleworks is close to you and it’s one of the very few hardcore BB gyms in London.

Jubilee Hall (which is where I train) is in Covent Garden, which may be close to your uni depending where you’re going. It’s not hardcore, but it’s got a solid group of lifters and you can get away with most stuff. There’s also some cool equipment available (no thanks to the gym - most of it belongs to the more serious trainers and a couple other people) - safety squat bar, trap bar, football bar, prowler, rope and a pair of chains. Some people also have bands (I’ve got a pretty good collection that I sometimes share with people).

A couple of guys competed about a week ago in a qualifier for BB nationals and some of them smashed their categories. On the other hand there are also quite a few clueless guys there. So it’s a strange mix - commercial gym with a couple very serious trainees.

The barbells suck, however, but we’re working on fixing that. Worst case scenario I might buy a Pendlay bar myself.

B.

[quote]BiP wrote:
Austinsprodigy’s list is good. Muscleworks is close to you and it’s one of the very few hardcore BB gyms in London.