T Nation

Good Deed?

At my gym there’s always a guy who’s running for, like, 90 minutes or so on the treadmill. Then, once in a while, he may go to the cable machine and do a few pulldowns, loading up maybe 30 lb or so. Pretty bad form too. I never said anything to him.

Today, he said he’s doing the pulldowns to “build some strength.”
He seemed sincere, albeit misguided. I’m no expert, but I figured it’s hard to be more mistaken than that. So I volunteered some advice.

I asked him how many reps he’s doing. He said fifty. I’m like, “fifty, as in five-zero?” He’s like “yeah, why?”

(sigh)

“Listen, dude, you won’t build much strength if you go past 15 - as in one-five. Not 50, as in five-zero, but fifteen.”

“Oh really?”

“Yeah. Load it up. If you can do more than 15, time to increase the load.”

He was astonished, but the fact that I could max out the cable machine when doing pulldowns probably made me the ultimate authority in his view, so he followed suit.

I only said a few more words about injury (“if it hurts a little, man up - if it hurts a lot, stop and see a doctor”) and lifting to failure (“don’t do it every single time”) and I figured it’s enough as a beginning.

I think there are many people like that, sincere, but lacking proper info. In this case, a little bit of common-sense advice seems appropriate.

Maybe later on, if he shows dedication, I’ll point him to some online resources so he can do his own research.

What do y’all think?

Might have been a little more information than necessary, as you approached him. But if he genuinely seemed interested there is nothing wrong with a little helpful advice. I’m not sure I would offer up too much more unless you want a pet project on your hands. I’m not a trainer, nor do I ever want to be, so the thought of that would creep me out, unless of course you were friends.