Good Careers to Be In Now

So with the economic downturn I think this is a good topic for this forum.

What is a good career to be in/go in now?

I have a bachelor’s degree in public health and have been working in public health emergency preparedness for the past five years. The pay is ok but not great (roughly $40,000). I’m 29 years old and will be finishing a master’s degree in epidemiology in less than a year. I started my master’s right after I finished my BS and entered the workforce (I’ve been working full time and doing my master’s for five years). I’ve found out that most jobs in epidemiology field require or prefer a PhD.

I’m in a situation where I either quit working and complete my PhD (which I don’t think is prudent at this time) or continue working and work on a management type degree (MPA, MBA or MHA).

I guess I’m just looking for advice on which path to take. I feel like I’m going to be stagnant with only a MSc in epidemiology. I want to make more money and have a more influential position. I know education isn’t everything but it counts for something. So which way should I go; PhD, MPA, MBA or MHA with the idea that I want to work in health care or public health.

I look forward to hearing from you all as you are the most honest no nonsense people I’ve seen on the internet.

Thanks for everyone’s feedback.

I think that you should primarily go for a PhD, because it’s highly valuable, marketable and will automatically qualify you for positions with high salaries.

If you choose to get a management degree, you could always work in healthcare management.
The economy WILL bounce back, and it could bring some changes to the job demographics of the healthcare field.

[quote]archiewhittaker wrote:
I think that you should primarily go for a PhD, because it’s highly valuable, marketable and will automatically qualify you for positions with high salaries.

If you choose to get a management degree, you could always work in healthcare management.