T Nation

Good at Strength, Bad at Muscle Gains

hence, i'm a beginner.

my plan is to do a slow clean bulk of 6 months to get from ~160-185 @ 5'9. Currently ~15% bf, hope to be still 15% bf with the clean bulk. that approximates to 4lb fat gain, 21 lb lbm gains. sound reasonable?

training i believe i got down already, so here's my food plan. in carb/protein/fat/cals
meal 1: blender smoothie: 60/40/10/490
meal 2: blender smoothie (the rest of it): 60/40/10/490
Workout: grape juice/whey: 40/24/2/274
PWO: grapejuice/whey: 40/24/2/274
meal 3: meat/veggie/carb: 80/45/15/635
meal 4: meat/veggie/carb: 80/45/15/635
meal 5: meat/veggie/fat: 10/50/30/510
meal 6: tuna/cottage/cheese/evoo: 10/60/30/550

TOTAL for workout days: 380/328/114/3858
total for nonworkout days (remove the 2 protein drink): 300/280/110/3310

critique? these area all estimates too. only thing i might see is that the protein is excessive right now, and calories might be a little high for my current weight. also, ive been low carb for a long time and i dont know how practical/much it is to eat 80g carbs for 2 consecutive meals in the form of spaghetti noodles.

You probably are going a bit overboard with the cals, I eat around 3000 a day, and im 220lbs. But try it out and adjust from there

It took me around 3000 calories a day to get to 190lbs at your height (im 5'10" with shoes) relatively lean. Hell, i hit 200lbs recently on 2000 calories a day somehow.

Now i don't suggest low calories, i don't even know how i gained muscle eating like a bird.

I would start off at 2800 CONSISTENTLY, you will be amazed at the changes you can make by being consistent with your diet without going overboard with the calories.

good, you already have a food log.

Get the base value for growing and consistently up your calories by 200 averaging a gain of 2lbs per week, you are the only one who will know how your body will respond, tailor-made your calories and adapt to it.