T Nation

Gonna Call Me Out?

This is your chance to call out a lard-ass. Bring a tubby to justice. Call T-911…

As I said in other posts, I have lost 22lbs so far through training.

While abroad at management school for a year I “created” (read “bastardized”) my own program which pretty much consisted of upper body/lower body alternate days six times per week 3 sets of 10 on each machine available for a total of 6 machines per workout. I also did a steady cardio workout of 30 minutes on the X trainer keeping HR about 140-150. I ate 1900-2100 cals per day with 100g of carbs and about 80g of fat with around 220g of protein.

This worked out well and taught me a little about discipline etc. but now I am back in England the confusion is setting in.

I go to the gym 3 x per week and do Taekwondo 2 x per week leaving the weekends free. TKD is 2hrs a time.

I am finding that I have more DOMS now and am more tired. I am in my final year of uni and the work is unbelievable. I also have 3 jobs which vary week to week (irregular but well paid- works out more than a set job).

Basically I am not sure what method to use to calculate calories etc. or when to eat carbs etc. I cannot afford supplements, I still have protein powder left over but will not be able to buy more (although Christmas is coming so you never know!) as I am not sure if I even have enough cash to stay at uni!

Anyway, I am now a red tag in TKD which leaves red belt, black tag and black belt.

For a long time I have been good at the theory of TKD but cannot apply it because I am out of shape. I spent a lot of time on T-Nation to get motivated etc. and considering that it used to hurt to walk coz my belly would pull on my lower back I am making good progress, 3 inches off waist, people notice the difference etc.