T Nation

Golf Exercises

Anybody give me a point in the right direction to what gym exercises will help with my game.
i’m already using lunges/step ups, wood chopper/russian twist, rotator work, but not 100% sure of other exercise i.e bench press, shoulder press.

You are on the right track, especially with the full contact twists, read coach davies ab article this week for more good stuff, and also include hip work, not just hip strength from DB swings, but concentrate massively on hip flexibility.

As a golfer myself (or rather a FORMER golfer…golf and bodybuilding are too expensive to do both at the same time), I can tell you what NOT to do.

I was a 70's shooter when I was a skinny, lanky high schooler. As soon as I started bulking up 10 years ago, my swing became really restricted and I started shooting poorly.

Unless you're Tiger Woods and need incredible amounts of strength and endurance to play competitive golf, I would think flexibility would be your number one priority.

General strength training is good for your health in general, so definitely add the weights to your fitness program, but don't go nuts. Focus on endurance type weight training (high reps and low weight) and devote half your workout to stretching.

If you want to train strictly to help your golf game, I would definitely make flexibility improvement an integral part

incorporate some radial and ulnar flexion forearm work.

I’d recommend powercleans. This exercise develops explosive strenth in the legs, hips and back; all the major muscles you use when hitting a golf ball. Get somebody to show you the proper technique. It’s not too tough to learn; just takes a little practice.