Going Backward?

I have been sporadically trying to lose weight after reaching my highest of 165lbs in 2018. I cut out snacks between meals because I knew I grazed a lot. I also started weightlifting semi-regularly and rock climbing 3 days a week.This helped with my body composition. My love handles no longer hang over my favorite pants (this is my super scientific, go-to measurement). In 2020 I started lifting 3 days a week, and calorie counted intermittently. I put on even more muscle and a bit more fluff. This year I would like to lean down more, so I am going about the “numbers” more diligently.

While I am not shooting for a specific weight (maybe I should?) I’d like my pant size to go down. I feel like I was making good progress the first few weeks of the year. Then stalling, and now gaining.
Couple of notes:

1. I am lifting full body 3x week (5x5 program)
  2. I climb 2-3 days a week
  3. Desk job + average around 6k steps a day
  4. I added the cardio to get ready for Mt Biking season come ~May (It rotates between the stairmill and assult bike)
  5. The favorite pants are not looser
  6. I meal prep each week. I don’t drink calories. Eat lean meat and veggies.
  7. Main two goals are to lean out and improve my power to weight ratio (I know I am not a car, but it’s applicable for biking and climbing)

I don’t want to give up/change strategies too soon, but the stall is disheartening (I am tempted to switch to maintenance and see how much muscle I can put on). Am I missing something, or just being impatient?

Is your waist measurement going down? Your pants may not be tight yet because you’ve increased the size of your legs through training

I honestly hadn’t thought of doing any measurements, so I do not know what they started as. I will add those. As far as the waist on said pants, it is not looser.

Why did you increase calories the last few weeks when your weight was trending downward?