T Nation

Goal Setting

Hey guys...I am a novice powerlifter but wanted to ask your advice/suggestions.....

How do you set your lifting goals? By meet, year, or by training cycle?

How do you determine long term goals? (i.e total x amount of lbs after training for 2 years)

I wanted to put my goals on paper, I have goals for my next meet, but I wanted ask seasoned lifters how you set your goals for the long term and what realistic goals would look like.

For a little background my first meet (USPA) totals (I'm 35, mother of two, former D1 athlete)

Weight: 86kg (competed in the 90kg group)
Squat: 252lbs
Bench: 148lbs
Deadlift: 352lbs

Thanks in advance!!

I set mine by the Russian standard chart, so you shoot for progression in all the levels, most importantly CMS then MS then MSIC

Thats the larger picture since as a PLer it is your total that matters, now to hit those numbers you nit pick individual goals, as a male over 181 lbs I think a 600 squat 400 bench 600 DL is always achievable and should be the minimum goals for those weight classes

You're class 1 for 90kg females, which isn't bad at all. http://www.usapowerlifting.com/lifterscorner/ipfclass.shtml

If you want to stay in 82.5/90, you have quite a bit of strength to gain to make Elite, just continue with steady progress, use 531, Cube method, Sheiko, etc. Alternatively, you can try maintaining strength while slowly cutting weight to make it to Elite in a lower weight class.

Last year when my gym was having our end of the year drinking party my "rival" and I wrote down what we are going to hit by the end of 2013 on a napkin.

I was drunk and didn't notice our gym owner take the napkin. The next week the napkin was posted up on the wall in the gym for us to own up to lol