T Nation

Goal Change - What to do Differently

Hi,

I'm not an experienced lifter, I've been training for something like 2 years now, pretty consistent though (at least for my taste).

My initial goal was what I've read and saw most ppl doing - to put on MASS. Well, I actually managed to put on around 6-7 kg of pretty lean muscle, so now I'm 96-97 kg at 193 cm height.

It's time to revise my goals, though. I've never been skinny and have always had pretty good muscle definition, I guess. No point in adding kgs just for the sake of it. On the other hand I've discovered, that lifting more and more weight somehow didn't make me strong overall.

This article http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/most_recent/morphing_from_blobby_bodybuilder_to_bad_ass inspired me further - I guess I'd rather be strong and athletic that big and weak.

I mean, I can barely do 20 pushups and my pushup performance hasn't improved since I started lifting, actually it has worsened. I recently started a 100-pushup program, which is designed to gradually lead you to do 100 pushups in one set. Well, so far I'm not improving much.

So how do I change my set/rep range to go for strength and endurance? So far I alternated "strength" and "mass" days, the former being in the 3-5 rep range, and the latter in 6-8 range.

Do I go now for only 3-5?

I also started running, around 2-3 times a week so far, lots of hard, ass-tearing uphill / cross country streaks. It's scary, I hope I can keep it up.

I hope I can get some advice on how to make this attempt and what to focus on.
Thanks!

Good god. Forget what the hell you've written. I just read that article you linked too. THAT inspired you... here is an extract:

"By the time I turned 40, my training had stagnated. I wasn't bored; I still loved going to the gym, but I'd reached a plateau. I stopped getting big and the only thing that was growing was my gut.