GM vs RDL & DL Technique

I’m new to weight training, so please humour me!

Am I correct in assuming that good mornings and Romanian deadlifts are essentially the same, except for where the weight is held? If so, what is the difference between the two lifts in terms of muscles targetted, etc?

Also, when doing deadlifts, should the weight be allowed to sit on the floor between reps, so that you’re essentially doing multiple singles in fast succession?

Thanks!

Well AFAIK romanian deadlifts are simply a stiff-legged deadlift with a slight knee bend (ie knees are not locked out).

Personally I wouldn’t even consider doing good mornings. They are a risky exercise which put alot of stress on the lower back. The only movement I have seen that they might be benificial for is a power-lifting squat where the back lags behind the hips when coming up from the bottom position.

There are PLENTY of other exercises that will work your lower back if that’s what you’re looking for.

Also, if you imagine a line drawn straight up from the feet, the path the weight travels through in a variety of deadlifts is meant to be kept very close this line, while the path in good-mornings is further out.

Fox69!

Om my god, have you actually read anything about good morning??? There are a lot of us doing GM but we practice SAFETY. It’s one of main exercises for westside template because it’s the one of the better back builders! It’s only dangerous when you don’t know how to do it!

As for GM vs RDL vs DL, they just work differently. GM seems to place more emphasis on the spine errectors, RDL more on hammies, DL more overall but EXTREMELY CNS taxing if done heavy lifting so we don’t do them that often. I usually alternate GM,DL and Squat for main exercises. RDL is more of accessory exercise for squat days.