T Nation

Glycogen Refeeding?

Hi all; I was looking for any feedback, regarding the importance, or lack of, glycogen refeeding? I'm starting an Anabolic Diet regimen, and I'm also a Type 2 diabetic. Using low carb, I keep my blood glucose perfectly normal, and even when I eat some carbs, it doesn't go haywire.

Anyway, how important is glycogen refeeding? If you do feel it matters, does doing it before or after lifting matter as well?

I appreciate any input.

Hopefully Modok will chime in, but I don't think the AD is a very good option for a diabetic. The whole point of the AD is to have those two days of massive insulin response, and it just seems really dangerous (or at least not a good idea) for a diabetic to try to drive his or her insulin levels through the roof with a high carb day after many low carb days. I would think (although I'm no expert) that something more consistent would fit a diabetic much better.

Good luck.

Hey there, thanks for the response. I hope Modok does see this, I've been reading some of his responses on the AD thread, he seems pretty sharp on the subject.

Being diabetic does make me hesitant, but what I was hoping, was that on the refeed, the extra glucose from the spike would go into the cells, rather than hang out in my bloodstream. And, honestly, even when I eat carbs now, my BG doesn't go much higher than a non-diabetic! It may go up to 115 or so, the only thing is that it will stay there longer than a non-diabetic, and I'm hoping that changes, with the lifting and supplements, to increase insulin sensitivity.

Do you find that you store bodyfat easily? Being diabetic I mean?

If I were you and was looking for a place to stick carbs I would put them post workout. Im a type one diabetic and Ive noticed that for the food I eat post workout I shave off quite a few carbs off when I calculate how much insulin I need. Ive noticed the post workout drop is nearly twice as strong when the workout contains lots of squatting.