T Nation

Gloves or No Gloves?

Should I use gloves or not? When I started lifting a year ago, I bought gloves to help my hands on shrugs. Then I started using them for everything else. I’ve since limited glove use to deadlifts, shrugs, and cleans. I’ve read some articles here that say if you wrap towels and stuff around a bar and lift with it, it will help your grip. Do gloves do the same thing? Anyway, all the guys at the gym I train at who look more experienced don’t use gloves, and all the beginner-looking types do use gloves. So, gloves or not?

Gloves are bad! I would loose them while you can. They actually limit you grip strength. After not using them for a while your hands will toughen up and you won’t miss them.

I don’t use em. I find they actually impair my grip. Just watch out and keep your calluses filed down or you’ll tear them off like I did. Not pleasant. As far as wrapping the bar w/ a towel to help your grip, it’s similar to using a thick bar in that it will train your grip to make it stronger. I doubt any gloves have significant enough thickness to elicit this effect however.

I have sweaty palms, so I use gloves. They’re great for DL’s, and they keep my hands dry and my grip solid. I think it’s all up to preference, no one will judge you differently if you wear them.

No gloves.

GLOVES = GAY

CHALK = COOL

As a Union Laborer, I wear gloves at work because it is the smart, safe thing to do. At the gym I prefer the feel of steel on flesh.

If you want to wear gloves, make sure you are the biggest/strongest MF in the gym and no one will say a word.

[quote]wrestler189 wrote:
… all the guys at the gym I train at who look more experienced don’t use gloves, and all the beginner-looking types do …[/quote]

As well as the reason you quoted above, I remember Pavel specifically advising against them for pressing/triceps work. It inhibits some sensors in the hands which react to pressure by increasing the contraction on the muscles involved.

No gloves!