Giving Blood

I’m a poor college student and I’ve toyed around with the idea of giving blood and plasma here and there to earn a few bucks. Will it have any inherently bad effects on my training? I would think the body would eventually adapt to the changes.

High rep squats the same day can make you a little light headed, but it has almost no negative effects on training in my experience.

Will just leave you with massive bruises around the needle site. Can be a bit sore when doing curls and the like.

Just eat heaps afterwards and you’ll be fine.

I talked to my brother, and they do not give blood they give plasma. Does that change anything?

I have set records 4 hours after donating 450 ml of blood. Usually I wait until the next day to train and then I feel, and often am, stronger than normal. I think one enters the “fight” mode after losing blood.

I wouldn’t recommend training the same day though because of the light-headedness, like kakno mentioned. You could pass out doing something too heavy.

[quote]RyFry wrote:
I talked to my brother, and they do not give blood they give plasma. Does that change anything?[/quote]
How much do you have to give?

EDIT: I have no idea if it changes things, but would guess that it’s not that bad since you are not losing the “whole stuff”, for example red blood cells. In Finland we just donate blood.

EDIT: Going to sleep. It’s 2.16 am here.

It’s not quite the same, but when I was getting Chemo it knocked my Red Blood Cell count down to a state that would be similar to what one would experience a few hours after giving blood and I was able to lift just as heavy, I just had to take longer breaks between sets.

[quote]RyFry wrote:
I talked to my brother, and they do not give blood they give plasma. Does that change anything?[/quote]

Plasma is the liquid part of blood so drinking a lot of water will even out what they take. I think they even put the blood back inside you…