Giving Blood, Lifting Same Day

I signed up to give blood (this is my first time) on Sept. 12 @ about 10 a.m.

I was wondering would this prohibit me from lifting later in the day (Around 12-1 p.m.). I’ve heard people say they feel weak after they give it or tired and honestly I would rather not give blood if it’s going to make me feel like shit and not be productive most of the day.

Also, I’ve heard people that give blood (men) say that it helps reduce cholesterol. Is that true? I tried to look it up on the web however nothing with actual fact turned up for me.

Before anyone tries to give out life lessons and decides to ride in on their high horse, honestly I don’t care. Save the Sunday school lessons for someone that cares.

I just gave blood yesterday at 5pm. I went to the gym 16 hours later and was slightly more tired then normal, but i bet that is because this is my first week of school as well as only getting 5 hours of sleep. Anyways, in past times i have given blood i have never felt sluggish afterwords but i have also always waited the recommended 24 hour time period to lift heavy weights.

It is a pretty cool experience if you have never done it before. After they bandaged me up yesterday i stood up and felt my right arm was getting really warm. I look down and i have blood rushing down my arm and onto the ground, it was hilarious.

Any chance of lifting before you give blood? And if it is leg day i don’t see any harm in squatting/leg pressing directly afterwords but i think you should wait longer then 4-5 hours just to make sure the needle mark doesn’t open up or anything, i dunno.

Dude, what?

So you’re altruistically giving blood, but if someone were to say ‘forget the workout for the day, or at least schedule it later, so you don’t have to cancel the donation’, you would not be impressed?