Giving Advice at the Gym

Hey guys.

I am no expert, but I have been on these forums and working out for several months.

Anyway, sometimes at the gym, like today, I see kids who are doing exercises with AWFUL form or doing things that are just not at all helpful really.

Is it bad form to try to give them friendly advice?

A guy gave me advice on my Squats once and I really appreciated it.

If they cared what you have to say, they would ask, or they would look like they wanted to ask.

I asked a kid who was clueless to spot me the other day. So, he did a good job sqotting, then I saw him doing 1/4 reps on a seat cable rows (with a huge backward lean and pull). I handing him a piece of paper with T-Nation’s address on it before I left.

I see people doing stupid shit in the gym all the time. I won’t give advice unless I’m asked–I still consider myself a newb. But I think casually bringing up sites like T-Nation or something like I did is totally okay. If they want advice they can look it up or post anonymously or work it into the conversation with you.

I’ve been wondering about this too. Theres this guy at my gym, usually does the latest new ab exercise or whatever weird functional shit, but the other day I saw him set up to do deadlifts and I’m thinking, alright, he finally caught on, good for him… I have never seen such a rounded back in my life.

On the one hand, most guys get pissed when some random person tells them they’re wrong. On the other hand, he’s either gonna stop doing them, get hurt, or both.

Don’t give advice unless you are being asked to do so or know the other person.

The very best thing you can do at the gym is to focus on the task ahead of YOU! Block out everything around you and move some iron. Don’t look around, don’t nod at people, don’t talk, critique, or advise. Farting is okay, cause it helps keep the masses away.