Girlfriend Says Egg Yolks Are Bad

My girlfriend is studing nutrition and got into me the other day about eating yolks. Apparently some nutrition big-wig came into class and told them how if you eat egg yolks you’ll be banished to the firey gates of hell.

i remember reading an article mentioning a study where participants ate 2-3 daily eggs for 6 months with no increase in colesterol.

also, she told me that it’s the egg whites that have the protein, not the yolk. i said the yolk have a signifacntly larger amount of protein in them.

can anyone help me with official sources to back my claims up?

i love you all

I graduated 2006 with a BS in Nutrition, and had to dig out one of my old textbooks to help you out �?? I�??m going out on a limb, and assuming that she believes eggs are the devil because of their high cholesterol content.
Here�??s what you tell your girlfiend: �??Contrary to widespread belief, changing the amount of cholesterol in the diet has only a minor influence on blood cholesterol concentration in most people. This is because compensatory mechanisms are engaged, such as HDL activity and scavenging excess cholesterol and the down-regulation of cholesterol synthesis by dietary cholesterol. It is well known, however, that certain individuals respond strongly, and others weakly, to dietary cholesterol. This phenomenon, which may have a genetic basis, is further complicated by the observation that significant within-person variability exists independent of diet, a fact that clearly confounds the results of intersubject studies.�??
She wasn�??t right about the egg whites either; while the majority of the protein is in the white (3.6g white/2.7g yolk) it�??s almost 50/50. Also, all of the nutrients are in the yolk. As Charles Poliquin Says, �??only dorks eat egg whites�??.
http://www.T-Nation.com/article/bodybuilding/question_of_strength_october&cr=

Gropper, S. S. (2005). Advanced Nutrition and Human Metabolism 4th Edition. Belmont: Thomson Wadsworth.