T Nation

Giggidy: What Have I Been Up to?

Time flies....

Pursuing fitness and body composition has been such a slow burn of accumulating more and more information over time. I have had lots of experience with tuning my diet, workout and overall thinking about fitness since I first started, not all that long ago.

So what have I been up to?

I almost immediately shifted gears after that last update. I adopted the program posted by Dan John. He posted an article about doing the same workout for 40 days (not necessarily consecutive), if I remember correctly it is mostly focused on strength, and so far I have to agree.

The warm-up
- 10 minutes of foam rolling

< I really need to work my IT band to avoid knee pain from squats, it has been extremely effective. I've been to a physio for 5 sessions to work on pretty sharp pain on the upper middle part of my knee cap. It was mostly deep tissue work, and I've kept it up on the foam rolling.

• 10 minutes of mobility drills taken from Magnificent Mobility and Inside Out (Robertson and Cressey stuff and it is great!). I emphasize hip mobility in the warm up drills, but still am able to get to most areas of my body.

The workout - only 8 exercises, 2 sets of 5 reps, exceptions noted below. Full body work.

Squats
- 4 warm up sets (unloaded bar, 135 lbs, 200 lbs, 250lbs)
- 2 sets of 5 reps * same scheme for below except for where noted.
5RM max has gone from 230 to 280!

Deadlift
5RM max has gone from 230 to 260

Wide Grip Pull UP
5RM is bodyweight plus 30 lbs

DB Press
5RM 80lbs per arm

Suitcase Press
5RM 55lbs and its a struggle

Bicep Curl
5RM 50lbs per arm

Ab Wheel
1 set 5 reps, I'm almost able to do them without going to knee.

Just got my valslides today so I'm going to integrate them soon.

DB Swing
50 reps at anywhere from 35 to 50 pounds.