GF Wants to Start Lifting, Specific Problem

My girlfriend wants to start lifting. unfortunately she has had two knee surgeries already at the age of 19. At this point she has very little cartilage left, and her quads are very weak from disuse. I’m not a professional and don’t want to advise her to do anything that is not good for her in the long term.

My only idea for leg training right now is to start leg training with hamstring work and any leg pressing or squatting is to be done with a slow rep speed and a very moderate weight. Maybe finishing leg work with very light isoholds on the leg extention.

Is this reasonable? The doctors told her she needed to strengthen her quads post surgery and when I started asking about what quad work she could do, they basically said she should only use an exercise bike. I thought this was interesting (no disrespect to the surgeon) because even though I have healthy knees using an exercise bike makes my knees hurt.

[quote]zephead4747 wrote:
My girlfriend wants to start lifting. unfortunately she has had two knee surgeries already at the age of 19. At this point she has very little cartilage left, and her quads are very weak from disuse. I’m not a professional and don’t want to advise her to do anything that is not good for her in the long term.

My only idea for leg training right now is to start leg training with hamstring work and any leg pressing or squatting is to be done with a slow rep speed and a very moderate weight. Maybe finishing leg work with very light isoholds on the leg extention.

Is this reasonable? The doctors told her she needed to strengthen her quads post surgery and when I started asking about what quad work she could do, they basically said she should only use an exercise bike. I thought this was interesting (no disrespect to the surgeon) because even though I have healthy knees using an exercise bike makes my knees hurt.

[/quote]