Getting Your Start as a Coach

I’m thinking about getting my start as a strength/fitness trainer. Ideally I’d like to work up to owning my own gym and running sports camps.

What kind of education/certifications/experience would people recommend for someone getting into this business?

I’m assuming you are a high school student (?)… IMHO, you should look into getting an exercise science degree, S&C certification, maybe coaching certification- NSCA, ACSM, etc.

http://www.google.com/search?q=cache:mACl-VpqSakJ:www.uscg.mil/mlcpac/iscseattle/pw/HealthPromtion/PhysicalFitness/Assessing%2520TheValueofHealthFitnessProfessionalCertification.doc+strength+and+conditioning+certification+organizations&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=9&gl=us&client=safari

and consider doing an internship and/or volunteer coaching along the way.

The route you should choose will depend a lot on where you want to go…

I’m actually a college graduate with an unrelated degree…but I’m happy to go back to school to learn what I need to learn.

Any ideas about what sort of programs to look into?

What is S&C certification?

How did all those famous T-Nation authors get their start?

You don’t need a degree. Start finding people who need help and training them. It is good if you have an “in” with a particular team or sports club. I play college volleyball; when I was in high school I worked as an assistant coach of a younger team for the travel club I played for and from there went to doing some private skills lessons and I always incorporated short GPP/conditioning sessions at the beginning and end and over time there just got more demand for strength and conditioning work.